Greetings We’re Modular Robotics

Modular Robotics is home to more than 50 people who design, engineer, and manufacture tiny robots. Everyday we work to build robot construction systems for kids because we believe that toys shape the way children think about the world. Our goal is to create remarkably fun play experiences that impart intuitive understanding of complex systems and design thinking. Our team is comprised of engineers, software developers, production specialists and operations… operators. Together we combine our forces to fight oversized monsters with our wicked Kung Fu skills and make the most delightful little robots.

Who is Modular Robotics?

Design

Christie Veitch

Education Director

christie@modrobotics.com

Engineering

Stephane Constantin

Electronics Engineer

stephane@modrobotics.com

Jon Hiller

Director of Engineering

jon@modrobotics.com

Eric Lundby

Software Developer

Eric.Lundby@modrobotics.com

Donald Ness

Mobile Software Developer

donald@modrobotics.com

Neville Dewitt Pierrat

Engineer

nev@modrobotics.com

Neil Severson

Electrical Engineer

neil@modrobotics.com

Operations

Stu Barwick

Marketing Manager

stu@modrobotics.com

Laure Levin

Director of Sales

laure@modrobotics.com

Jon Moyes

Systems Engineering & Support

jmoyes@modrobotics.com

Emily Plage

Customer Service & Office Manager

emily.plage@modrobotics.com

Scott Shambo

Director of Supply Chain

scott.shambo@modrobotics.com

Lucas Spaulding

Director of Finance

lucas@modrobotics.com

Courtney Walsh

Communications

courtney@modrobotics.com

Production

Matthew Capron

Director of Production

matthew.capron@modrobotics.com

Sawyer Bernath

Electronics Lead & Software Developer

sawyer@modrobotics.com

Kristin Yen

Master Planner & Mechanical Production Manager

kristin@modrobotics.com

Production Elves:

  • Alisia Barringer
  • Audrey Briel
  • Chris Cerjak
  • Colbea Chamberlain
  • Jenny Chambers
  • Kevin Cianfichi
  • Diana Cravens
  • Christopher Cypser
  • Richard Deanda
  • Joshua Eberl
  • Magen Edmiston
  • Joe Ferry
  • Ying Her
  • Trevor Horwith
  • Vallen Hutton
  • Sandra Pacheco
  • Thad Reeves
  • William Rickert
  • Raziel Scher
  • Connor Summeril
  • Ian Swett
  • Eng Teck
  • Casey “Chips” Theriot
  • Eric Wernert

Interested in working as an elf in our Boulder, CO factory? Apply here

Advisory Board

Edith Ackerman is Visiting Scientist at MIT. She has been Senior Research Scientist at Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratory and Associate Professor at the MIT Media laboratory, strategic researcher and interaction designer at INVIVIA, Inc., and content provider and concept designer at LEGO. She serves on the boards of Altran Foundation for Innovation, France, and Child Research Net, Japan. She is a member of Kaleidoscope, a network that brings together European teams in technology-enhanced learning and an advisor for the San Francisco Exploratorium’s science, art, and technology program.

Illah Nourbakhsh is Professor of Robotics at Carnegie Mellon University, where he directs the Community Robotics, Education, and Technology Empowerment (CREATE) Lab. His many projects include the Toy Robots Initiative, aiming to commercialize robotics technologies for education and entertainment, the GigaPan high-resolution robotic panoramic camera, and the Global Connection Project, which uses images to connect, inform, and inspire people to become engaged and responsible global citizens.

David Rea is Co-founder and CEO of software company Nearest Island, in Boulder, Colorado. For seven years (2000-2007) he was Director of Technology Assessment at global private equity firm General Atlantic, responsible for technology due diligence on prospective investments, supporting deal teams across all sectors and geographies. Previously David was a senior software engineer at Cornice Communication Inc, and technical director of the Physics 2000 educational software project at University of Colorado.

Nathan Seidle is CEO of SparkFun Inc. in Boulder, Colorado, a company he founded in 2003 as an undergraduate student in electrical engineering. The company, which has grown to over 80 employees, provides tools, hardware, and other resources for artists, engineers, prototypers, and hobbyists to “play with cool electronic gadgetry”. He is an accomplished engineer, innovator, and bootstrapping entrepreneur.

Bob Wanke is President of ADV Marketing Associates LLC , Pittsburgh, PA. With more than 25 years in business leadership, Bob was a senior executive for Parker Brothers video games, Coleco’s Consumer Electronic Division and Matchbox Toys. He was instrumental in several internet start-ups, including DC-based Liquidation.com. Bob received his BA and MBA from the University of Virginia.

Jane Werner is Executive Director at the Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh, a jewel in the Charm Bracelet of that city’s cultural institutions and an award-winning fun place for children and their families to play and learn. A trained artist, Jane supports innovative exhibits and activities that engage the community with arts, design, science, engineering, and technology.